Žižek: Troll After My Own Heart

I’m going to post more Watson things eventually*. In the meantime:

Interviewer: For someone who describes love as violent and unnecessary, you seem to have pulled off quite the affair. Your wife [Argentinian model Analia Hounie] wore a long white dress and held a bouquet. How traditional.

Slavoj Žižek: Yes, but did you notice something? If you look at the photos, you can see that I am not happy. Even my eyes are closed. It’s a psychotic escape. “This is not happening. I’m not really here.” I planted some jokes in my wedding. Like, the organizers asked me to select music. So when I approached my wife at the ceremony, they played the second movement from Shostakovich’s 10th Symphony, which is usually known as the “portrait of Stalin.” And then when we embraced, the music that they played was Schubert’s “Death and the Maiden.” I enjoyed this in a childish way! But marriage was all a nightmare and so on and so on.

Interviewer: So you did it for your wife, this big wedding?

Slavoj Žižek: Yes, she was dreaming about it. You know what book I really didn’t like from this perspective? Laura Kipnis’ “Against Love.” Her idea is that the last defense of the bourgeois order is ‘No sex outside love!’ It’s the Judith Butler stuff: reconstruction, identity, blah, blah, blah. I claim it’s just the opposite. Today, passionate engagement is considered almost pathological. I think there is something subversive in saying: This is the man or woman with whom I want to stake everything.

[credit: Ariel]

*The Watson is over, officially, but there are some final things I’ve put off posting. I’m now attempting to move on to the next phase of struggling to live philosophically. The fate of this blog is yet undetermined.

Leave a Reply

