Leviathan and Jacques the Fatalist

Leviathan took me forever to finish – it’s very long, and to be honest, between all the traveling and visiting kids and meeting people, there were parts that I really didn’t read as closely as I should have. I liked Hobbes, as much as anyone can like Hobbes, at least. But now I’m in Berlin, and I’ve left Hobbes in Paris (and read him in Peru), so despite my previous fidelity to writing on each philosophy book I read, I will leave you with this:

“Supreme executive power derives from a mandate from the masses, not from some farcical aquatic ceremony!”

(it’s probably about as relevant to Hobbes as any of my previous posts are to their subject texts)

Unfortunately, I must do the same for Diderot. I enjoyed Jacques the Fatalist, even if I did find it a bit heavy-handed; again I don’t have the text with me so I won’t trudge through something when all my notes are in the margins (in a different country). Instead of a proper post, here is a philosophy bites podcast with Daniel Dennett on free will: http://ec.libsyn.com/p/3/8/2/38236a4cde512ad4/Daniel_Dennett_on_Free_Will_Worth_Wanting.mp3?d13a76d516d9dec20c3d276ce028ed5089ab1ce3dae902ea1d01cf8730d8c15d14f4&c_id=4846332

Leave a Reply

