Grade 5 Rapids: How I met the Nile

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“There is but one truly serious philosophical problem and that is suicide.”

As Walden spoke well to my pursuits in the Himalayas, I am finding Camus to be quite appropriate reading for my Ugandan lapses in judgment. Though I put the responsibility more or less on nature and therefore made the problem one of homicide, if Camus is right, I spent one recent day facing this serious philosophical problem head-on.

I had a great time and actually I expected it to be more intense than it actually was – I was definitely up for more. I met Americans for the first time in months, which I was quite happy about. They were two girls who just finished two years in the Peace Corps in Cameroon. Also on the raft was the Belgian who is volunteering with the organization here (it was his last day in Uganda), two people from Finland who were hilarious, and a tall-tale spewing Ugandan guide. I can’t wait to try this again on some new rivers, and hopefully without so many prior injuries. I have a red helmet and am alternately in the front and the middle of the raft (but mostly in the middle except for the final 10ish pictures), and the only one with white bandages on (arm and leg and foot).

*going through the pictures in the proper order is more interesting for this post because the last ten or so pictures are a frame-by-frame replay of our most epic wipeout in a grade 5 rapid

One thought on “Grade 5 Rapids: How I met the Nile

Leave a Reply

